Elite Term Plan

Product Features

What is Term life insurance?
Term life insurance provides pure life insurance protection to the insured for a specific period but does not contain any savings feature. The insurance company will pay the sum assured if death occurs during the covered period. As this plan has no cash value and saving elements, premium for this type of insurance plan is usually the lowest and increase with Insured's age. However, if the insured is still alive at the maturity date of the policy, no proceeds will be provided to the insured by the insurance company.
Why does the customer need Elite Term Plan?
This Plan offers low-cost protection with pure life coverage. It allows customers to fill his/her protection gap at a relatively low cost. Moreover, the premiums payable are guaranteed to stay the same for the first twenty policy years. Starting from the 21st policy year, the premiums are not guaranteed which will be determined annually based on factors including but not limited to the age of the Insured at next birthday, claims experience and policy persistency at the time of renewal. No matter what the customer's state of health is, the Plan continues up to the age of 95.
What is the minimum sum insured and maximum sum insured of Elite Term Plan at i.FWD?
The minimum sum insured is HKD 400,000 and the maximum sum insured is HKD 2,000,000 which is subject to age limit (Insured's age of next birthday) through i.FWD .
  1. Insured age of 19 - 50: maximum sum insured will be HK$2.0 million
  2. Insured age of 51 - 55: maximum sum insured will be HK$1.5 million
  3. Insured age of 56 - 60: maximum sum insured will be HK$0.5 million
What is Advanced Death Benefit?
While the policy is in force and the insured's advent of death is highly likely within 12 months as certified by a registered medical specialist as defined in the policy and is accepted by FWD Life Insurance Company (Bermuda) Limited (“FWD Life”), the Advanced Death Benefit in the sum equivalent to the Death Benefit will be payable to the policy owner in advance subject to the maximum of HK$1,000,000 per insured. Upon payment of such benefit to the policy owner, the sum insured and the premium of the policy will be reduced accordingly. If the sum insured is reduced to zero or below, the policy will terminate. Advanced Death Benefit is not applicable under specific circumstances. Please refer to the exclusions for the Advanced Death Benefit on the policy provisions.
Does the premium stay the same throughout the term of the policy?
No. The premium remains level and is guaranteed for the first 20 policy years. Starting from the 21st policy year, the premiums are not guaranteed which will be determined annually based on factors including but not limited to the age of the Insured at next birthday, claims experience and policy persistency at the time of renewal.
Is there any policy fee levied on the Elite Term Plan?
No.
Are there any other currencies offered at i.FWD?
Only Hong Kong Dollar is available at i.FWD.
What are the key product risks?
The key product risks are:
  1. Credit risk
    This product is an insurance policy issued by FWD Life. The application of this insurance product and all benefits payable under the policy are subject to the credit risk of FWD Life. The customer will bear the default risk in the event that FWD Life is unable to satisfy its financial obligations under this insurance contract.
  2. Inflation risk
    The cost of living in the future may be higher than now due to the effects of inflation. Therefore, the benefits under this policy may not be sufficient for the increasing protection needs in the future even if FWD Life fulfills all of the contractual obligations.
  3. Exclusions
    No Advanced Death Benefit will be paid where the Insured's advent of death is caused directly or indirectly from any of the following: (1) intentional self-inflicted injury, or attempted suicide, while sane or insane and while intoxicated or not; or (2) Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) related illness, including Acquired Immunization Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) and/or any mutations, derivations or variations thereof, which is derived from an HIV infection; or (3) intoxication caused by alcohol or narcotics or drugs or agents unless taken in accordance with the lawful directions and prescription of a Registered Medical Specialist.
  4. Premium adjustment
    The premiums payable for the first 20 policy years are level and guaranteed. Starting from the 21st policy year, the premium is non-guaranteed and will be determined annually based on the age of the Insured on his/her next birthday at the time of renewal. The premium may increase significantly starting from the 21st policy due to factors including but not limited to age, claims experience and policy persistency.
  5. Premium term and non-payment of premium
    The premium payment term of the policy ends on the policy anniversary immediately preceding the Life Insured's 95th birthday. FWD Life allows a Grace Period of 30 days after the premium due date for payment of each premium. If a premium is still unpaid at the expiration of the Grace Period, the policy will be terminated from the date of the first unpaid premium was due. Please note that once the policy is terminated on this basis, the customer will lose all of the benefits.
  6. CTermination conditions
    The policy shall terminate on the earliest of the following: (1) The death of the Life Insured. (2) The policy anniversary immediately preceding the 95th birthday of the Life Insured. (3) The date on which the entire amount of the Sum Insured remaining is converted to a permanent plan of life insurance subject to the FWD Life's relevant rules at the time of conversion. (4) The Sum Insured is reduced to zero or below upon payment of the Advanced Death Benefit under this policy. (5) The end of the Grace Period of any premiums due and not received by FWD Life.

Application

What are the underwriting requirements for Elite Term Plan at i.FWD?
Simplified underwriting. Customers need to answer 4 underwriting questions. No medical examinations are required for this plan. If one of answers to the underwriting questions is "yes", customers are subject to standard underwriting procedure offline.
Can the Policy be dated back?
Yes, but not more than 3 months.
Is there any attachable rider?
No, there is no attachable rider available through i.FWD at policy inception. After the policy is inforced, the customer can opt for riders by going through necessary underwriting.
If the customer is not a HKID cardholder, can he/she buy this product?
No. Only HKID cardholders and residents in Hong Kong are accepted. Note that non-permanent residents need to provide their passport as a supporting document.
If the customer lives outside of Hong Kong, can he/she apply for this product?
The customer can call FWD Financial 24-hour Service Hotline 3123 3338 for enquiries and apply for traditional Elite Term Plan. Premiums may be adjusted with applicable geographic loadings.
If the customer occupation is classified as dangerous, can he/she apply for this product?
Yes but premiums may be adjusted with applicable occupation loadings.
What are available payment methods?
Customers can pay by credit cards only in policyholder's name by setting up direct deposit account (DDA) online. Acceptable credit cards are Visa/Master/BoCom Co-brand credit card.
How long does it take to process an application and put a policy inforce?

The policy will be inforce within 4-10 working days upon receiving all the necessary document with full initial payment made from you and underwriting has been completed by FWD Life Insurance Company (Bermuda) Limited ("FWD Life"). A SMS will be sent to policyowner once the policy is inforce.

When will Direct Debit Authorization (DDA) of credit cards be debited?
On the 3rd of each month.
Does the customer have to submit all the supporting documents during the online application?

No, the customer may either upload the documents later, or bring them in person to FWD Insurance Solutions Centres.

Are there any age limits for applying to Elite Term Plan at i.FWD?
The issue age must be 19-60 (age next birthday) at the time of application.
Can the customer change his/her mind and cancel the policy?
If the customer is not satisfied with the policy, he/she has the right to cancel it within the Cooling-off Period and obtain a refund of any premium paid provided that he/she has not made any claims under the policy. A written notice signed by him/her should be received by the office of FWD Life at 1/F., FWD Financial Centre, 308 Des Voeux Road Central, Hong Kong within the Cooling-Off Period (that is, 21 days after either the delivery of the policy or the issue of a Notice informing him/her or his/her representative that the policy is available for collection and expiry date of the Cooling-off Period, whichever is earlier).

Policy Services

Can the customer increase the sum insured during the term of the policy?
The customer can only increase the sum insured during the first policy year of the policy and the change will be effective from the Commencement Date. It is subject to full underwriting.
What are the premium payment mode(s)?
Only monthly mode is available through i.FWD at policy inception. It can be changed after the policy is inforced. Please fill in the Policy Service Request Form under Part A Section 4. Change of Payment Mode. The form is available to be downloaded from the following website:
http://www.fwd.com.hk/en/support-claims/forms-listing/
If the customer does not pay the premium due after the initial premium is paid, will the policy be lapsed?

FWD Life Insurance Company (Bermuda) Limited ("FWD Life") allows a Grace Period of 30 days after the premium due date for payment of each premium after the first. If a premium is unpaid at the expiration of the Grace Period, the Policy shall cease to be in force from the date of the first unpaid premium. Any due and unpaid premiums shall be deducted from a benefit otherwise payable.

Can the policy be reinstated?
Within one year from the date of a default in payment of premiums pursuant to which this Policy was terminated, this Policy may be reinstated at FWD Life's absolute discretion, provided that the Insured is still alive and insurable by FWD Life's underwriting rules. The Policy Owner is required to pay all the unpaid premiums with interest, at a rate determined by FWD Life from time to time, from the date of the default in payment of premiums.
Can the customer convert to permanent life insurance plan? What kind of evidence does he/she need to submit?
Yes, this Plan enables customers to convert to a permanent life insurance plan, provided that the policy is inforce and the Insured is alive, before the Policy anniversary immediately preceding the 70th birthday of the Insured. Evidence of insurability is not required.
When the customer make a death/advanced death benefit claim, how is the payment be calculated?
It is equal to 100% of the sum insured. For Advanced Death Benefit, it is subject to the maximum of HK$1,000,000 per insured. Where the premium payment mode is other than annually, if the Death Benefit or Advanced Death Benefit is payable, FWD Life shall deduct from the amount payable the unpaid premiums (if any) for the remainder of the current year of insurance, together with any other indebtedness.

智理想定期保障計劃

產品特性

甚麼是定期壽險?
定期壽險設有特定有效期, 主要為受保人提供純人壽保障,計劃內並沒有任何儲蓄成分。若受保人在保單有效期內身故,保險公司會按投保金額作出賠償。由於這種計劃內沒有任何現金價值及不含儲蓄成份,故為壽險計劃中保費最低的,其保費通常會隨受保人的年齡增加而提高。當保單於限期屆滿時就會失效,受保人不會獲得期滿金額。
為什麼要投保智理想定期保障計劃?
此計劃是簡單而保費相宜的純人壽保障,為客戶以低成本來填補其保障的不足。此外,客戶的保費在首20個保單年度保證維持不變。由第21個保單年度起,每年續期保費並非保證,而按照(包括但不限於)客戶於續期時之下次生日年齡、理賠經驗及保單續保率等因素而訂定。不論客戶的健康狀況如何,此計劃均會為客戶提供保障至95歲。
透過i.FWD平台申請智理想定期保障計劃,最低和最高的投保金額是多少?
最低的投保金額是40萬港元,而最高的投保金額是200萬港元,視乎受保人的年齡(下次生日年齡)而定。
  1. 受保人年齡 19-50:最高投保金額為200萬港元
  2. 受保人年齡 51-55:最高投保金額為150萬港元
  3. 受保人年齡 56-60:最高投保金額為50萬港元
預支身故權益是甚麼?
當保單生效時,受保人經註冊專業醫生(按保單釋義)證明受保人非常可能於12個月內身故,富衛並接受此證明,富衛將會預先支付一筆相等於身故權益之款項予保單權益人作為預支身故權益,上限為每名受保人1,000,000港元。此賠償一經向保單權益人支付,保單的投保金額及保費將相應調低。若投保金額調整至零或以下,保單將會終止。預支身故權益在某些情況下將不適用,詳情可參閱保單條款列明之預支身故權益的不保事項。
保費是否於整個保單年期內維持不變?
否。保費在首20個保單年度為平衡及保證維持不變。由第21個保單年度起,每年續期保費並非保證,而按照(包括但不限於)客戶於續期時之下次生日年齡、理賠經驗及保單續保率等因素而訂定。
智理想定期保障計劃是否需要徵收保單費用?
否。
i.FWD平台提供其他保單貨幣嗎?
i.FWD平台只提供港幣為保單貨幣。
本產品有哪些主要風險?
本產品有以下主要風險:
  1. 信貸風險
    本產品是由富衛發出的保單。投保本保險產品或保險產品的任何保單利益須承受富衛的信貸風險。客戶將承擔富衛無法履行保單財務責任的違約風險。
  2. 通脹風險
    請注意通脹會導致未來生活費用增加。即使富衛履行所有合約責任,實際保單權益可能不足以應付將來的保障需要。
  3. 不保事項
    若受保人直接或間接由下列任何原因引致非常可能於12個月內身故,將不獲發此預支身故權益:(1) 蓄意自我毀傷或企圖自殺,不論當時神智是否清醒,或是否受藥物或酒精影響。(2) 感染人類免疫力缺乏病毒(HIV)所引致之任何疾病,包括愛滋病(AIDS)和/或各種由感染HIV之突變,衍生或變異。(3) 由於服用酒精或毒品或類似之藥物或藥製劑過量,除非是註冊專業醫生處方開列之藥物。
  4. 保費調整
    首20個保單年度之保費為平衡及保證維持不變。於第21個保單年度開始,保費為非保證並將會按照受保人於續期時之下次生日年齡而訂定。基於年齡、理賠經驗及保單續保率等因素,保費或會大幅增加。
  5. 保費年期及欠繳保費
    保單的供款年期的終結日為受保人95歲生日前之保單週年日。任何到期繳付之保費均可獲本公司30天寬限期。若在寬限期後仍未繳付保費,保單將於第一次未繳保費計起失效,而客戶可能會失去全部權益。
  6. 終止保單
    保單將在下列其中一個日期終止,以較早為準:(1) 受保人身故。(2) 受保人95歲生日前之保單週年日。(3) 本保單之全部保險金額按富衛規定轉換為永久性壽險之日。(4) 投保額因富衛就本保單支付預支身故權益後下調至零或以下。(5) 寬限期滿後仍未繳付保費。

投保申請

透過i.FWD平台申請智理想定期保障計劃,其核保要求是甚麼?
簡易核保。客戶只須回答4條核保問題。客戶毋須進行驗身。如有一條核保問題的答案為「是」,客戶將需要於線下通過一般核保程序。
此保單有保單追溯期嗎?
有,但不可超過3個月。
此計劃可否附加附約?
不可以,客戶不能透過i.FWD平台在保單生效之時附加附約。保單生效後,客戶在進行所須的核保程序下,選擇附加附約。
如客戶不是香港身份証持有人,他/她可購買此產品嗎?
不可以。此產品只接受香港身份証持有人及香港居民的申請。如申請人為非香港永久性居民,須提供護照作為證明文件。
如客戶在香港以外居住,他/她可購買此產品嗎?
客戶可致電24小時服務熱線31233123查詢,他/她可選擇投保傳統版本的智理想定期保障計劃。本公司可收取地區性額外保費。
如客戶從事高危工作,他/她可購買此產品嗎?
可以,本公司可收取職業性額外保費。
有甚麼保費繳付方法?
客戶可於網上以其保單持有人名稱設立自動轉帳戶口,本公司只接受Visa/Master/交通銀行FWD富衛銀聯雙幣信用卡。
在提交申請後,需要多長時間令保單生效?
保單只會在收到所有所須文件及收取全數首期保費,在核保完成後的四至十個工作天內生效,而申請人亦會在保單生效時收到短訊通知。
信用咭自動轉帳甚麼時候會扣數?
每個月的第3日。
客戶是否需在網上申請時遞交所有文件證明?
客戶毋須即時遞交所有文件證明,可選擇稍後上載或到本公司的保險綜合服務中心遞交。
透過i.FWD平台申請智理想定期保障計劃是否有年齡限制?
申請時客戶的投保年齡須為19-60歲 (下次生日年齡)。
客戶可以改變主意取消保單嗎?
如客戶對保單不滿意,則在客戶未曾於本保單下作出過任何索償的前提下,客戶有權在「冷靜期」內以書面要求取消保單及取回所有已繳交的保費。客戶必須在客戶保單的「冷靜期」(保單交付給客戶/客戶的代表或《通知書》(說明已經可領取保單和「冷靜期」的屆滿日)發予客戶/客戶的代表後起計的21天內,以較早者為準。) 屆滿日或之前確保富衛辦事處收到客戶的親筆簽署的通知書。富衛辦事處的地址為香港中環德輔道中308號富衛金融中心1樓。

保單服務

客戶可否於保單年期內增加投保金額?
客戶可於保單首個保單年度內增加投保金額,而更改將於保單生效日起生效。客戶將須通過全面核保。
有甚麼保費繳付方式?
於保單生效時,i.FWD平台只提供月繳方式。繳費方式可以於保單生效後更改。請填寫「更改保單合約內容申請書」的甲部第四部份 (更改付款方式)。申請書可於以下網址下載:http://www.fwd.com.hk/tc/support-claims/forms-listing/
當首期保費繳付完成,如客戶不繳付應繳保費,保單會終止嗎?
在繳付首期保費後,任何到期繳付之保費均可獲富衛三十天寬限期。若在寬限期後仍未繳付保費,此保單將於第一次未繳保費計起失效。在領取賠償時,任何逾期未繳之保費將在賠償額中扣除。
保單可否復效?
倘保單因未能繳交保費而失效,祇要受保人仍然在生且依富衛核保規則為可受保者,富衛皆可酌情接受於失效後一年內恢復生效之申請。保單權益人須清還所有自保單失效日起逾期未付之保費及利息,利率將不時由富衛釐定。
客戶可否把此保單轉換成永久性壽險? 需要提供甚麼證明嗎?
可以,於受保人在生時及本保單生效期內, 並在緊鄰受保人達七十歲生日前一個保單週年日之前,本保單之全部或部分保險金額均可在毋須提供可受保證明下按本公司規定轉換為永久性壽險。
當客戶索償身故賠償或預支身故賠償時,賠償金額是怎樣計算?
賠償金額等於百分之一百的投保金額。預支身故權益的上限為每名受保人 1,000,000港元。若保費繳付方式不是以年繳形式付款,富衛賠償身故權益或預支身故權益時,將在賠償數目內扣除保單於該年餘下的全期保費之未繳部份(如有)及其他尚未償還之債務。